Ask questions and learn!

Suggestions to improve app

Hello, not sure if you guys would like any input but I'm gonna throw it out there.

I have been a Driver and navigator for 10 years. Raced in many classes trucks and buggies. This was my first race using the system. First I will say great job. I think it made a difference. This year's Baja 1000 had serious silt and was very rough. A great test run for our new navigation system. I was using a 3rd gen iPad mini 64gb cellular, I routed the audio into my helmet, I used the Dual GPS puck, ram mounts and lifeproof case.

I used this system a long with my lowrance GPS as a backup with 3 pre runs of my section.

For me this app was great for :

Inputting notes on course hazards, changes, turns. Way easier than doing it on a lowrance. I can put in a quick few words or sentence on how to negotiate a turn or section on the spot instead of using a computer to get my notes in.

I could take it out of the mount and walk the trail, to avoid leaving tire marks which is a huge benefit.

Audio system was cool, I didn't think i would like the audio but it proved to work well.

The offline imagery was great, I Downloaded 1km each side of the whole track, it took forever to download, but it was awesome for the silt and prerunning. I didn't use it in the race much because when you are zoomed in to a level you need for judging turns it is too far for the images.

Car got stuck, gave me coordinates, I made a custom marker, put in the coordinates , bam had there location overlaid on the arial imagery which allowed me to find alternate trails to get to the car without using the race course.

There is more good things I can't think of that really made it shine. In my opinion there is only a couple things the lowrance does this doesn't do, and definitly a lot of things it does way better.

A few things I would love to see in the app